Wk 4 – Art Experience – Aaron Dela Rosa

This week the class explored a form of art that many people are aware of, yet few have tried: graffiti. For this project, I bought three cans of spray paint (orange, light blue, and black), and a cardboard poster as my base. The pictures above show my personal experience as the project took nearly an hour. To be honest, this project proved to be quite difficult considering how there needs to be precise movements/ positions when spray painting. On the other hand, not only was the project fun, I gained a new appreciation for art since I still have so much to learn. There are layers of paint within the board because I overlapped a handful of times to make my name visible. Although it was hard, the outcome is quite rewarding (especially now that I have something to hang on my wall).
My tendency to make the name clear & lavishing was definitely the main factor as to why the experience took so long. Whenever I layered a new color, it would ruin its surroundings – causing me to spray paint all over again. Despite that, the feeling of spraying onto the cardboard was quite relaxing. It made me feel like an artist (since many people stopped and was intrigued to what I was doing). Graffiti is a form of art that is often overlooked; yet my experience caused me to develop an affinity towards the style.
Leave a Reply

